New Gun Laws starting in 2024

Stay informed on the evolving legal landscape with our comprehensive page on new gun laws taking effect in 2024. Explore the latest regulations and changes impacting firearm ownership and usage.

California Gun Laws 2024

  • AB 28 = 11% excise tax on the purchase of guns and ammo
  • AB 92 = prohibit a person who is not allowed to possess a firearm from possessing body armor
  • AB 97 = take effect in 2033 require the state to report arrests related to the possession of ghost guns
  • AB 301 = allows a judge to issuing a gun violence restraining order because of purchasing body armor. 
  • AB 303 = requires the Attorney General provide local law enforcement with information from the Prohibited Armed Persons File
  • AB 355 = loan of weapons to basic training for police officers
  • AB 455 = allow a defendant be prohibited from possessing a firearm if undergone mental health treatment.
  • AB 725 = beginning in 2026, firearm’s frame or receiver also be reported lost or stolen
  • AB 1089 = will limit the use of a 3D printer or CNC milling machine to make firearms
  • AB 1406 = extension of the existing 10-day waiting period for the transfer or sale of a firearm
  • AB 1483 = limit number of firearms sales between private parties
  • SB 2 = bans CCW from most public places
  • SB 417 = signage inside a licensed dealer
  • SB 452 will require, starting in 2028, all pistols have microstamping tech
  • January 1, 2024 takes effect

Protect Illinois Communities Act

  • January 11, 2023, governor JB Pritzker signed HB 5471
  • Bans the sale and distribution of so-called assault weapons, high-capacity magazines, and full-auto switches (which are already illegal) ban new sales of .50 BMG ammunition &.50 caliber centerfire rifles
  • January 1, 2024 is the compliance deadline (for registration of current legally owned firearms)

Minnesota Red Flag Gun Confiscation Orders

  • Family members and law enforcement can now petition for an extreme risk protection order
  • January 1, 2024 takes effect

Tennessee Gun Safety Course Law

  • Participants will get a $100 enhanced handgun carry permit application and processing fee reimbursement for obtaining the permit
  • Jan. 1, 2024 people who take firearm safety courses after get fee reimbursement

Washington State House Bill 1143

  • mandates a 10-day waiting period and completed safety training for all firearm purchases
  • January 1, 2024 takes effect

Michigan Universal Background Checks, Red Flag Orders, & more

  • April 13, 2023, Michigan Governor signed Senate Bills 79, 80, 81, and 82 and House Bills 4138 and 4142
  • Feb. 13, 2024 set to take effect